When we are planning to sell or give away our old PC, how can we make sure all the personal files on the hard drive are erased and unrecoverable?
This is one of the import things in our digital life with Personal Computers. Most of the people may simply delete the data before getting rid of their PC. Means, they may have deleted personal information and files or they may have reinstalled or reset windows. But it does not make your data unrecoverable. More interestingly no one cares about to think whether the data can be recoverable or not. We have to wipe hard disk in order to make the data unrecoverable.
Why Do We need to Wipe Hard Disk?
When we are simply deleting files it doesn’t do the trick since they can restore it from the Recycle Bin. Even after we empty the Recycle Bin, one can easily recover our deleted files with the right recovery software. By using the Reset feature in Windows 8.1 or 10 to return your PC to factory conditions does erase the drive as it reinstalls the OS. Hence that is comparatively an acceptable option. But if you’re running an older version of Windows, or you want a stronger method of wiping your hard drive than the Reset feature provides, things may be different. Then only way you have to go for a good utility software to wipe hard disk.
One of the best free hard disk wiping software is EaseUS Partition Master Free. In addition to its ability for wiping hard drive, it is having some bonus features like Formatting, Partitioning, Change Partition Label, Move partition, Merge partition etc. Wipe partition can erase the data on the partition completely and ensure that no data recovery solution can recover the data. Please go through the EaseUS software’s self-explanatory documentation which describes hard disk wiping procedure.
Read This Also: Secure Your Windows 10 PC With Dynamic Lock
EaseUS Partition Master provides Wipe Partition feature to erase all partition data permanently. It is used to completely wipe out all the data on your partition by overwriting the existing data with a new data. Once the wipe operation is carried out, the data will not be recovered by any data recovery software.
To wipe partition:
1. Launch EaseUS Partition Master.
2. Select the partition you want to wipe.
3. Select “Partitions” -> “Wipe partition” on the main menu or right click the partition and select “Wipe partition”.
4. Set the number of times to wipe the partition. You can set to 10 at most.
5.Click Apply to execute the operations.
- The wipe operation cannot be undone.
- The boot and system partition cannot be wiped.